Advisory Groups

The GTL Center regularly convenes three groups of experts, practitioners, and other leaders in the field of educator quality to advise and support its work: the Advisory Board, the Communication and Coordination Council, the College and Career Readiness Technical Working Group, and the Practitioner Advisory Group. These groups collaborate with the GTL Center by providing feedback and recommendations on identifying state and district needs and the development of tools and resources that support great teachers and leaders.

Advisory Board. The Advisory Board helps steer the GTL Center's goals, objectives, and technical assistance strategies. This board identifies critical issues and needs in the field for supporting great teachers and leaders.

Advisory Members:

  • Jeanne Burns, Louisiana Board of Regents

  • Marcella Franczkowski, Maryland State Department of Education

  • Dr. Carol Keirstead, Northeast Comprehensive Center

  • Paul Koehler, WestEd

  • Seth Gerson, National Governors Association

  • Duane Magee, Iowa Board of Educational Examiners

  • Scott Stump, Vivayic

  • Joan Wade, Association of Educational Service Agencies

  • Eric Guckian, Leadership For Educational Equity 

Communication and Coordination Council (CCC). The CCC consists of members from various organizations who share a similar mission of supporting great teachers and leaders. It helps align efforts in developing a coherent, national approach to teacher and leader support. This group also leverages resources and further disseminate in the field.

CCC Members:

  • Ashleigh McFadden, Advance CTE 

  • Adriane Dorrington, National Education Association

  • Aaron Goldstein, The American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education

  • Liam Goldrick, The New Teacher Center

  • Bryan Joffe, American Association of School Administrators

  • Paige Kowalski, Data Quality Campaign

  • Dawn Krusemark, American Federation of Teachers (AFT) AFL-CIO

  • Kelly Pollitt, National Association of Elementary School Principals

  • Diane Rentner, Center on Education Policy

  • Melissa Tooley, New America

  • Nancy Reder, National Association of State Directors of Special Education

  • Rob Weil, American Federation of Teachers

  • Ross Wiener, The Aspen Institute

  • Doris Terry Williams, Rural School and Community Trust

  • Deborah Ziegler, Council for Exceptional Children

Practitioner Advisory Group.  The Practitioner Advisory Group aims to bring current educators’ voices and perspectives closer to the work of the GTL Center. Launched in July 2014, the Practitioner Advisory Group consists of teachers, principals, superintendents, and other practitioners. Members provide input into GTL Center resources, serve as reviewers of GTL Center products, and in some cases contribute substantively to product development.

Practitioner Members:

  • David Bosso, President, Connecticut Teacher of the Year Council and the Connecticut Council for the Social Studies, CT
  • Aaron Bredenkamp, Dean of Students, Westside High School, NE
  • Kelly Cunningham, Curriculum Coordinator, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools, NC
  • Ahngelique Davis, Teacher/Athletic Coach, Evenham Township School Disrict, NJ
  • Patrice Dawkins-Jackson, Teacher, Dunwoody Springs Elementary School, GA
  • Jon Eckert, Associate Professor, Wheaton College, IL
  • Laurel Horn Elgin, Special Education Program Specialist, Summit Public Schools, CA
  • Kimberly Hough, Assistant Superintendent of Personnel Services, Loudoun County Public Schools, VA
  • Tania Johnson, Teacher Quality Liasion, Cedar Rapids Community School District, IA
  • Lacey Leonard, Teacher, Buffalo United Charter School, NY
  • Kimbrelle B. Lewis, Principal, Raleigh-Bartlette Meadows Elementary School, TN
  • Tabitha Pacheco, Instructional Facilitator, Utah Virtual Academy, UT
  • Kendra Phelps, Professional Issues Representative, Cincinnati Federation of Teachers, OH
  • Mark Sass, Teacher, Adams 12 Five Star Schools, CO
  • Lee-Ann Stephens, High Achievement Program Advocate, MN